My late intro post

RobbyPants
atheist
RobbyPants's picture
User is offlineOffline
My late intro post

Who I am: 

I am a married software developer in his early 30s with two young girls. I like to mess around on the computer a bit too much and play a good amount of D&D.

How I found this place:  

I like reading at rationalwiki. I first found out about this place when I stumbled upon the Rational Response Squad debate with Way of the Master.

What I (don't) believe:  

I'd consider myself an agnostic atheist. Or atheist. Or functional atheist. I've heard a lot of different terms used differently at different places. Basically, I don't believe in any gods, I don't believe belief one way or the other can be proven, but I see no reason not to simply dismiss these random claims that have no evidence.

Why I don't believe:  

I was brought up and raised Christian (Lutheran, more specifically). I can't tell you exactly when I started having problems with the belief, but it could have started as early as my early 20s. I mostly tried to not think about any doubts that I had. For quite a while, I was pretty good at coming up with a lot of apologetic excuses to stave off cognitive dissonance. After a while, that stopped being comforting, and started bothering me more and more; like I was just making things up to fix the problem.

About four years ago, I realized I was having some serious issues with my faith. For a while, I tried to ignore the problem and simply tell myself that I believed it. When that didn't work, I tried to make myself believe it. During this time, I would frequently get depressed if I spent any time thinking about it. For the last six months of this period, I finally got to the point where I didn't really believe, but I couldn't admit it to myself. I kept worrying about being wrong and ending up in hell (Pascal's wager, I know). It literally took me six months to be able to admit to myself that I didn't believe it.