How does Theism or Atheism play into your Job?

lgnsttefrst
User is offlineOffline
How does Theism or Atheism play into your Job?

Im curious to know how religious beliefs or atheism plays into you guys lives at work. We spend so much time at work, at least 40 hours every week, so eventually our notions on religion play some sort of role in our interactions at work. This thread is not designed to be a debate thread (we have enough of those), more of just a survey on social activity. I'll start below.

I work as an emergency medical technician for a company that covers an area ranging from suburbs to a run down former industrial center. Naturally, death is an everyday subject at work, as myself and my co-workers encounter it on a fairly regualr basis. I find there are many different beliefs at work, my thursday partner is a buddhist, my wednesday partner a wiccan, my saturday an atheist, and the rest are mostly non church going Christians. All these different beliefs lead to people dealing with tragedy and "bad calls" in different ways. From my non scientific observations I have found that the religious folk seem to cope with the "bad calls" more quickly and have more solace in knowing that they did all they could. (im not talking about on scene performance here, im talking about the after effcts of a highly disturbing call). A ways back I did a multiple fatal. Nobody got away from that one clean, but as I said before, the more religious the emt, the more at peace they seemed to be. I asked on of my coworkers how they dealt with it, he answered "I know he was just an innocent little boy and his soul is with God now". My agnostic coworker seemed to be more shaken by the prospect of death in such a visceral manner, he said that he was bothered that these young kids lives were crushed in their infancy, he noted that it would be nice if there was an afterlife, if only just for these kids. Granted there are a lot of factors at work behind the scenes in any person's mind,