Quitting smoking that is working for me

A_Nony_Mouse
atheist
A_Nony_Mouse's picture
User is offlineOffline
Quitting smoking that is working for me

Due to the heart attack issues quitting smoking is no longer a matter of a good idea or make you healthier. It has been elevated to the life preserving category. I have quit before and both times I smoked more than ever when I started again so I had experience and knew some things not to do.

So far there has been great progress down to one or two cigarettes a day and some days none.

I live alone so there are no smokers around me. That is a legitimate consideration. Also that I have been smoking for nearly 50 years and as high as 2 1/2 packs per day.

I am using nicotine patches and electronic cigarettes. Essentially I am just getting a nicotine fix and the eCigs give taste and feel and mannerisms without smoke or tar or carbon monoxide. There are no tests of the health issues of what they do let you inhale. However it is only the water soluable components of tobacco. This includes the nicotine and many of the flavor components. Obviously missing are the burn components but the craving for them is minor and perhaps really non-existent with something else about the burning that I miss.

The eCigs are from www.v2cigs.com/categories/electronic-cigarette-starter-kits . Use eggnog at checkout before the end of the month and get 15% off. Why them? There are way too many people jumping into the business. I found a number of recommendations for it more than for the next candidate. It is the only one I have tried.

Patches, best price I found was Equate on Amazon. And they work as advertised. I have no way to compare to any other. 

Anyway, so far so good. Doing better than the last times I quit. Any time there is an urge to smoke a few puffs on the eCig ends it. So I have none of anxiety and cold turkey problems. NO withdrawal feelings.