Atheists- Volunteer for free math and science tutoring

Jen S
Jen S's picture
User is offlineOffline
Atheists- Volunteer for free math and science tutoring

I am a math teacher.  I have thought that it would be a great idea for atheists to do some volunteer work.  And Tutoring kids in math and science for free makes so much sense!  It fits so well. What do you think?

Desdenova
atheist
Desdenova's picture
User is offlineOffline
Jen S wrote: I am a math

Jen S wrote:

I am a math teacher.  I have thought that it would be a great idea for atheists to do some volunteer work.  And Tutoring kids in math and science for free makes so much sense!  It fits so well. What do you think?

Sounds like a great idea. I offered to volunteer at the local satellite college here, but higher learning, like learning to read, for instance, isn't high on the agenda for the people in the area.

It takes a village to raise an idiot.

Save a tree, eat a vegetarian.

Sometimes " The Majority " only means that all the fools are on the same side.

Sapient
High Level DonorRRS CO-FOUNDERRRS Core MemberWebsite Admin
User is offlineOffline
It's extremely rewarding. 

It's extremely rewarding.  I tutored those exact subjects to inner city students for a while before I was operating RRS.  Are there any national orgs that help organize the effort?

butterbattle
ModeratorSuperfan
butterbattle's picture
User is offlineOffline
I was a volunteer tutor at

I was a volunteer tutor at public library only about a year ago.

Our revels now are ended. These our actors, | As I foretold you, were all spirits, and | Are melted into air, into thin air; | And, like the baseless fabric of this vision, | The cloud-capped towers, the gorgeous palaces, | The solemn temples, the great globe itself, - Yea, all which it inherit, shall dissolve, | And, like this insubstantial pageant faded, | Leave not a rack behind. We are such stuff | As dreams are made on, and our little life | Is rounded with a sleep. - Shakespeare