Rational proof for the existence of God - why all of you should be theists [kill em with kindness]

Sjoerd
User is offlineOffline
Rational proof for the existence of God - why all of you should be theists [kill em with kindness]

Hello everyone,

Let me introduce myself: I am Sjoerd, 27 years old, from the Netherlands; I am a scientist (post-doc in bioinformatics), and I am a theist. I noticed your advertisements at Debating Christianity&Religion. I found your advertisements a bit smug and arrogant looking, but now that I am here, it seems that you are actually not that bad Smiling Still, here is a smug and perhaps a bit arrogant attempt of my own to prove the existence of God by rational argument.  I posted the same on DC&R and I found the atheists' criticism there a bit unconvincing, so perhaps some people here have more arguments. So let's get started...

I will argue for the existence of God, providing a definition of "existence" and of "God". I believe that my logic is sound, although any atheist (or anyone else) is encouraged to shoot at it. Still, I doubt that it will make many converts for theism, because one can disagree about my definitions of "existence" and "God", and I think that atheists will generally choose to reject these definitions.

So I will restate the title of my post as "Rational proof of the existence of God, given a particular definition of "existence" and "God": Why all of you who accept these definitions should be theists".
I also apologize for the length of the post, but I want to be as precise as possible, to prevent misunderstandings. Of course, I may not have been precise enough, if so, please point it out.