Life of Pi

22jesus22
22jesus22's picture
User is offlineOffline
Life of Pi

In my English 102 Class we are currently discussing the novel Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  My teacher chose this novel because she believes it exemplifies storytelling. I do not disagree.  However it is a book that brings up the questions of how do individuals interpret reality.  And more specifically it narrows it down too, Science as an interpretation, the facts based on our senses, or Religion/God as an interpretation, "truth beyond fact" as my teacher likes to say.  The first part of the book has a lot to do with Religion/Atheism and the point of this thread was to get some thoughts on this paragraph in the novel. 

"He became my favourite teacher at Petit Seminaire and the reason I studied Zoology at the University of Toronto.  I felt a kinship with him.  It was my first clue that Atheists are my brothers and sisters of a different faith, and every word they speak speaks of faith.  Like me, they go as far as the legs of reason will carry them--and then they leap." (pg. 31)

We touched on this topic in class, and I asked what kind of leap Atheists take, my teacher's response was the leap to not believe.  I then asked if we all take a leap to not believe in Unicorns, she said that we do.  I have a problem with the words "faith" and "leap" in the above quote, and am going to bring this passage up again, to further discuss it in class.  So basically I would just like to hear what you guys think.  Maybe some of you can take a shot at this whole "How you interpret Reality" statement.  It would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

darth_josh
High Level DonorHigh Level ModeratorGold Member
darth_josh's picture
User is offlineOffline
English 102 has become

English 102 has become Philosophy? = first problem

I would have re-written the passage thusly:  "Like me, they go as far as the legs of reason will carry them--and then they look for the next step inquisitively."