Thanksgiving

digitalbeachbum
atheistRational VIP!
digitalbeachbum's picture
User is offlineOffline
Thanksgiving

I'm a bit of a cook when it comes to my stomach. I grew up with an old school grandmother who taught me to cook a lot of Eastern European dishes. I loved cooking with her and today I still use those skills for every day meals or big parties.

My mom always cooks this big spread for Thanksgiving. We have turkey, ham, every veggie you can think of, etc. It's really over done and being a mom who also runs her own company I decide that this year she should get a break. So I offered to cook the turkey for her.

I've been looking online and I see a lot of roasters, smokers, fryers, etc which are almost all new to me. The only item which I'm even closely familiar with is the slow roaster, but while I've never dried a turkey I've done my fair share of shrimp and other smaller delicacies.

Can some of you give me your input on how you cook or family cooks their turkey? We will be getting a 22lb turkey so that will give you an idea of my project.

ProzacDeathWish
atheist
ProzacDeathWish's picture
User is offlineOffline
 If I actually knew of any

If I actually knew of any helpful information I would certainly post it.    At least with as large of a membership as we have here on RRS I feel pretty sure somebody will come along shortly with some good info.  

Beyond Saving
atheist
Beyond Saving's picture
User is offlineOffline
http://www.foodnetwork.com/re

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/good-eats-roast-turkey-recipe/index.html

Generally I prefer to break my turkey down and cook the pieces, but when I have to cook the whole bird, I use Alton Browns process and just change up the spices. Brining it really helps keep it moist and adds flavor. For the pan, using two off the aluminum disposable ones will work.