Debate Groups

andy5
atheist
User is offlineOffline
Debate Groups

I was wondering about this in relation to this topic, as well as creation/evolution and does God exist and are the scientific proof claims of Jesus and the Canon Bible Books real and so on-I know there are specifically some of you good folks who go around debating and arguing this in public forums with groups like the Church of Christ.  Personally I am not good at arguing, but I was wondering really-do these types of things do any good?  My experience in  arguing with committed fundamental literal Christians is that there is absolutely no way to change their minds no matter what.  They already feel how they do and they will switch between their supposed scientists on their side, their books with their "rock solid" evidence and proof like "The Case for Christ", if any of you know some specific debunks of that one by the way I'd love to hear them cuz it gets thrown at me the most, and then of course they also have just their emotional appeals and appeals to "logic" and so on.

So bottom line what I'm asking is, do these types of debates do any good in semi-public settings, have they any record of actually decreasing Church attendance or ever causing any elders or preachers to quit their jobs and claim they've been wrong all this time, or do they pretty much just leave people angry and shouting at the end, with no winner as far as any majority of the audience is concerned?  Because if they actually were effective and worked, there are a few organizations near and dear to my Xtian family I'd love to throw them on the scent of so they could take them down in public.

Brian37
atheistSuperfan
Brian37's picture
User is offlineOffline
andy5 wrote:I was wondering

andy5 wrote: