Agnosticism versus Atheism

Dante_Inferno
User is offlineOffline
Agnosticism versus Atheism

I am not a professional logician or anything but I just took a philosophy class and so I dabble in it. So I was wondering if anyone could assess the following argument. There is often a distinction between agnoticism and atheism, the former being defined as not knowing that god exists and the latter not believing that god exists. I am aware there are those that define athesim as believing there is no god. I do not see this as a logically entailed position. And for me the difference between the two definitions seems rather trivial in it's real world effects. But I might be wrong on this matter. Any way the deductive argument I formed seems to indicate that not knowing logically requires not believing. Any comments?

P1 To know that God exists is to claim that God exists

P2 To believe that God exists is to claim that God exists

P3 To not know that God exists is to not claim that God exists

P4 To not believe that God exists is to not claim that God exists

P5 If I know that God exists and I believe that God exists, I claim that God exists

P6 If I know that God exists and I do not believe that God exists, I claim and do not claim that God exists

P7 If I do not know that God exists and I do not believe that God exists, I do not claim that God exists

P8 If I do not know that God exists and I believe that God exists, I do not claim and claim that God exists

P9 I do not know that god exists

P11 Therefore I do not believe that god exists.

As you can see only P5 and P7 are logically entailed. P6 and P8 are contradictory. Thus the rational theist is required to show that they know that god exists. And the rational agnostic is required to be an atheist.

Dante_Inferno
User is offlineOffline
Correction and How do I edit comment or can I?

P11 is not a premise. It shoule be C, the conclusion.

By the way, can we edit posts and if so how do we do it?

The Doomed Soul
atheist