how do other Atheists do it?

SaveMeJebus
SaveMeJebus's picture
User is offlineOffline
how do other Atheists do it?

Hello all... I am new to RR. I am still for the most part a closet atheist.

I never thought it would be difficult to be an atheist until I realized I was one. I thought the only difference was that I wouldn't have to go to church. I didn't realize society's intense hostility to non-believers. And to be honest, I still do not understand it. Why does telling someone that you don't believe in god cause them to abandon all their supposed religious values and act like a total dick! Apostasy anyone??

I have a funny Atheist T-shirt. It says "ATHEISM: A Non-Prophet Organization". Perhaps you have seen it. Clearly witty. I am still afraid to wear it out in public. I would have a less hard time wearing a Teen Life shirt out in public even though it's not my beliefs. Simply because it's socially acceptable. Perhaps I am just a big pussy. I think that is my goal at some point... to wear my t-shirt out and about. 

The other issue I am dealing with is that my girlfriend is Christian. Maybe a 6 or 7 on scale of 1 to 10. Neither us ever bring up the subject. She knows I am not religious. I never go to church and I have Christopher Hitchens and Richard Dawkins books, among others, laying around my house. We are avoiding the subject. Neither of us are going to change our beliefs.  I could never even attempt to challenge her beliefs. Does anyone think there is any hope for an Atheist and a Christian to make a relationship work? The idea of me having a religious wedding or sending my kids to Sunday school makes me physically ill.

Tony

Jeffrick
High Level DonorRational VIP!SuperfanGold Member
Jeffrick's picture
User is offlineOffline
future

If you are prepared for a lot of aggrivation with a devoutly religious wife & her family especially on how to raise children without religion,  then go for it.