not happy/happy

mephibosheth
TheistTroll
mephibosheth's picture
User is offlineOffline
not happy/happy

When I was baptized as a believer in '63 I see it now as my "coming out of Egypt" by means of the "blood of The Lamb". I then entered the "wilderness of doubts, complaining and confusion".

After several years of this wilderness - God helped me "cross over" the Jordan into "full assurance", focused on trusting Jesus only. I find this to be a great joy and secure state. When I trip up, I have a great forgiving Master.

The focus is difficult to maintain - there are a lot of distractions, but I see progress and that's encouraging. It's when I start trusting "partly in Jesus" and "partly in myself" that I start getting tripped up.

I have light in this fight - I can see my weaknesses but His strength. I can see I don't know the way but He does.

I have "deep peace of conscience". I can honestly say "I have sinned" and look at the sacrifice of Jesus and honestly say, "I am forgiven". My heart, mind, soul echo that. The Holy Spirit witnesses (I can't prove this but I discern it like a person can discern conscience).

The Word of God says I am secure in Christ. I believe that but I also am experiencing that personally. It is real to me.

I'm not afraid of death, though you don't get much practice. I am looking forward to continuing the unreachable goal of "knowing Jesus" - I can already sense eternity because I never get tired of focusing on Him. Eternity will never reach the end of exploring the greatness of Jesus.

The "wilderness of doubts and seeing double" wasn't satisfying - but "full assurance" is. In a sense I am in the "promised land" here on earth. Since I am happy in this I want to share it with anyone who is open to it.

latincanuck
atheist
latincanuck's picture
User is offlineOffline
    Welcome to RRS.

Welcome to RRS.