Ignosticism and Positive Ontology

magilum
User is offlineOffline
Ignosticism and Positive Ontology

I have no formal background in logic or philosophy, so excuse my rambling and please correct me if I'm wrong. I'm trying to get a handle on the ignostic position. I'll go through what I have so far.
1. "To exist is to exist as something." - Todangst2. To exist as something, something must have properties that differentiate it from nothing.3. "God," as most people describe it, is defined only by what it is not: not natural/supernatural.4. Anything observable would be called natural.5. "God" isn't observable, and to say it is supernatural is admitting the same.6. Supernatural things don't exist, by definition.

deludedgod
Rational VIP!ScientistDeluded God
deludedgod's picture
User is offlineOffline
Correct. I think we all

Correct. I think we all regard the term as quite meaningless. Ontology speaks to meaning and conceptual coherency to say that something is. The notion of "supernatural" is broken in this regard, because it makes no sense. Obviously, before attempting to provide "evidence" of something, one must define precisely what they are providing evidence of, so it is conjecture-level. The concept cannot even get to the stage where we discuss "evidence" of it. Since it is a broken and meaningless concept, it shoud come as no suprise, really, that all  a posteriori arguments for this philosophical incoherency some people call "God" are at best ad ignoratium and at worst, falsehoods.

"Physical reality” isn’t some arbitrary demarcation. It is defined in terms of what we can systematically investigate, directly or not, by means of our senses. It is preposterous to assert that the process of systematic scientific reasoning arbitrarily excludes “non-physical explanations” because the very notion of “non-physical explanation” is contradictory.

-Me

Books about atheism

todangst
atheistRational VIP!
todangst's picture
User is offlineOffline
magilum wrote: I have no