Talking to a Christian

cbenard
cbenard's picture
User is offlineOffline
Talking to a Christian

When talking to Christians, they try to use this "proof".

1) Do you agree we exist?
I say "Yes".

2) How did we begin to exist?
Evolution/big bang/etc.

3) What started that.
Not being a scientist, I'm perfectly ok with saying "I don't know".

They turn not knowing into "evidence" for a god. I can see this is a total logical fallacy, but they cannot. How can I explain this in a quick manner so that even the most unintelligent christian can understand.

Thanks in advance, all you more skilled atheist debaters.

Equilibrium
Equilibrium's picture
User is offlineOffline
Talking to a Christian

Use an analogy, but don't expect results no matter what you do. To quote Bill Maher, "That's like saying the thermos keeps hot things hot, and cold things cold, because it's a God".

I've been trying to figure out the best fit for this fallacy. Is it Hasty Generalization?

"Character is higher than intellect... A great soul will be strong to live, as well as to think."
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

CynageN
User is offlineOffline
Talking to a Christian

I've actually got a few christians to shut up just by saying, what makes you think Science will not eventually uncover what started the big bang if it's true? Science never stops evolving, and it's illogical to think that it will never be discovered.

qwak
User is offlineOffline
Talking to a Christian

I find it's often best to cite other examples of uncertainty, especially if it's something that they might deal with on a daily basis.

It can be something that could easily be proven, but at the time you ask them they could have no knowledge of. It could be a fairly realistic scenario or something absolutely ridiculous, but you can use that to show why you shouldn't come to any sort of conclusion about something unless you have good reason to.

music

http//www.myspace.com/antiqwak

lunkradio_dot_com
User is offlineOffline
Talking to a Christian