Hello from Canada.

lesath
atheist
User is offlineOffline
Hello from Canada.

I'm a 20-year-old Canadian university student. For me, a universe with a god would be the most unjust and inconceivable: a universe ruled by consciousness is one ruled by scheming, bribery and manipulation, by nepotism and pressure groups,  by whim and favouritism. That the universe has no god is what allows us to exist, to function, to live harmoniously by following the steps necessary to extract the values we want from the world -- according to the rules of reality. If wishing (praying) can make something so, then we have no means to effectively deal with reality except for devoting all of our time to wishing. This has been the state of humanity in the past; specifically, in the Middle Ages. All the praying and wishing that occurred during those dark 1000 years came to nothing, and it was only the rediscovery of rationality (in the form of the works of Aristotle) that made a successful and happy human existence possible. I am glad to have been born in an age where rationality, although not widely accepted in all its forms, is at least known and accessible, where I still have the freedom and education necessary to engage with reality on its own terms -- and not the terms of some meddling tyrant of a deity. I'm here to celebrate the inexistence of god -- and the existence of reality.

harleysportster
atheist
harleysportster's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome aboard

Welcome aboard.

BobSpence
High Level DonorRational VIP!ScientistWebsite Admin
BobSpence's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hey, lesath, welcome.Sounds

Hey, lesath, welcome.

Sounds like you'll fit right in.

Your ideas seem very much along my current thinking.

If there were such a powerful being overlooking the Universe, we could know nothing about the ultimate motives of such a being, who could remap our perceived reality at a whim, who could deceive us utterly about what he intended, about the true nature of reality.