Hello!

Pyrismaragdos
atheist
Pyrismaragdos's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hello!

Hi, everyone!

I've been reading threads on this forum for a couple of months now and find that there's a lot to gain from so many open-minded and well-informed people here, so I thought I'd ask to be part of it and maybe write a few posts myself.

I'm a 57-year-old atheist, I'm Greek and live in Greece. I'm a high school teacher of English (as a foreing language - EFL) in Xanthi, a town with a population of about 50,000, situated in the north-eastern part of the country. I'm married and have a daughter. My wife (49, also an atheist) is also a high school teacher with a degree in electrical engineering and my daughter (28, probably an atheist, or at least non-religious so far) is a primary school teacher.

I started 'flirting' with atheism when I was about 16, but had to go through a long and painful process becoming a full-fledged atheist (at about 24), after spending the first 13 years of my life as a Greek Orthodox christian, then the rest of my adolescence plus a few more years as an on-and-off (but in a steadily and progressively diminishing manner) Jehovah witnesses 'sympathizer'. The change from GOC to JW symp happened when my mother was approached by JWs, naively accepting their evangelism and consequently speaking to me, her first child, about the 'good news' and the 'truth'. My father became furious when he found out and forbade my mother and me to have anything to do with JWs. I'd say that my father was atheist in a way, though he never really expressed his views to me or my three brothers, except only once, when he said to me, "There's no god, only a greater force." I was around 10 at the time.