a bit of help

ifywar
ifywar's picture
User is offlineOffline
a bit of help

i need a small bit of help. i am a high school student, and in my gr. 11 ancient history class there are 7 creationists, including the teacher, who even told us she was creationist. a girl (who is actually quite good looking, but i digress) who sits in front of me is a GREAT debater for creationism, not even kidding, she seems like the next kent hovind. i am a mediocre debater, having only been in 2 formal ones, so i keep losing whenever i try to go up against her. does anyone have any debate advice, along with good info?

phooney
phooney's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome to the forums. I'd

Welcome to the forums.

I'd recommend starting here:

http://www.rationalresponders.com/argument_and_debate_forms_and_techniques_part_1

This is an 8 part series of essays written by one of the mods here, Hambydammit.  It isn't written specifically about creationism, but is pretty fantastic for argument and debate in general.  It will help you recognise and show people where her arguments are logically failing, and help you with your own arguments a lot as well.

ifywar
ifywar's picture
User is offlineOffline
phooney wrote:Welcome to the

phooney wrote:

Welcome to the forums.

I'd recommend starting here:

http://www.rationalresponders.com/argument_and_debate_forms_and_techniques_part_1

This is an 8 part series of essays written by one of the mods here, Hambydammit.  It isn't written specifically about creationism, but is pretty fantastic for argument and debate in general.  It will help you recognise and show people where her arguments are logically failing, and help you with your own arguments a lot as well.

y thnk u. i might as well add that i sort of find it ironic that its my ancient history class where i know the most creationists.

all hail the great and powerful sluffywinks.

MattShizzle
User is offlineOffline
Kent Hovind isn't that

Kent Hovind isn't that bright by the way: