Little story on superconductivity

KSMB
Scientist
KSMB's picture
User is offlineOffline
Little story on superconductivity

I don't know about you all, but one of the most irritating things theists claim is that science is our religion*. So today when I went to a talk at my university about superconductivity (I'm a graduate student in astrophysics), I learn about just how false the theists' views are. Let me share a story (beware of paraphrasing).

Superconductivity occurs in certain materials, and it is the phenomenon of exactly zero electrical resistance (for low enough temperatures). It was discovered by Heike Kamerlingh Onnes in 1911 (Nobel prize 1913). As in all physics, the development is then stepwise, with a definate milestone being the discovery of the Meissner effect in 1935. However, it wasn't until 1957 that the complete microscopic theory of how superconductivity works was presented. This is called the BCS theory (Bardeen, Cooper & Schrieffer, awarded Nobel prize in 1972) and it's pretty neat.

As you can imagine, in the time between the discovery and the formulation of a working theory (46 years) there are lots of failed hypotheses. Some of these hypotheses come from very famous scientists. Einstein himself writes a paper in 1922 (in German) where he proposes some model. This model gives some prediction (in this case, that superconductivity cannot sustain itself across boundaries of materials). But it is known already that it can in reality, so Einstein essentially says "by the way, this falsifies my model, so my model is wrong. Good! Now we know that." Other hypotheses proposed come from such dignitaries as Landau, Kronig, Bloch and even Bardeen himself (the same guy that later comes up with the correct theory). These models were all falsafiable, and were weeded out! This is the beauty of science! Scientists are not afraid of being wrong, if you can show how they are wrong, they will thank you for it!