Question on the Blasphemy Challenge

Therat
Theist
User is offlineOffline
Question on the Blasphemy Challenge

I am a bit new at this so I may be posting this in the wrong place. So if someone wants to move it around to the right place that is cool.

I was intrigued by the blasphemy challenge thing, I saw it on a news link. So I have cruised around a bit on the web site and the forums trying to find out if my question has already been answered. I could not find anything so I decided to just drop a line and see if I can get some feedback.

The text that drives the challenge is Mk 3:20-30, and I was wondering if anyone pointed out that the context there is one where Jesus is talking to religious people. It was teachers of the law who were attributing the work of Jesus in casting out demons to satanic power. So here we have people sharing a similar revelatory base (the Old Testament) and they are rejecting the witness of the Holy Spirit to Jesus.

It just seems somewhat "showboatish" to jump on this text and act as if it proves something by God's apparent nonactivity in the face of open blasphemy by people who claim not to believe in the revelatory accounts of the Old and New Testament anyway. God's patience and willingness to be mocked and misunderstood is a major theme in Jesus. So it seems to be more for "shock value" and to generate news than some kind of real test. You cannot deny the Holy Spirit that you do not believe in, in the same way that these teachers of the law were rejecting the witness of what God was doing in the works of Jesus.

The patience, kindness, and dignity that Jesus treats people with in the Gospels means unfortunately that the blasphemy challenge is not going to be "answered" in some kind of spectacular manner. God continues working in quiet and gracious ways, fanning sparks of faith found in the most unlikely of places, even among those who are unaware of him.