Rational precepts - Holistic healing

Anonymous
User is offlineOffline

As a fan of the show, I felt compelled to write something about the content that was featured in the premiere episode.

I agree with everyone of the rational precepts except one. The holistic medicine aspect.

Holistic is not defined as a supernatural form of medicine. It's a concept based on the relationship of parts and wholes.

I am a massage therapist and there is nothing supernatural about massage (massage is considered a holistic approach).

Massage doesn't replace mainstream medicinal therapies, but it is used as a complimentary form of medicine.

Many doctors and chiropractors utilize the use of massage therapists as well as many professional sports teams for the facilitation of treatment of damaged muscle tissue.

Massage can help repair adhesions in muscle tissue, it can help rid the body of toxins by moving tissue around. It also helps bring blood to tissue that is running dry and aids in better circulation overall.

There are some massage therapists that utilize "spiritual" aspects to their work and many work on a totally physical and clinical level.

There is allot of diversity in that profession and I don't want people to cast a blanket judgement over the field of massage therapy. Sure, some practicioners utilize irrational practices and there are also some people who pose themselves off as massage therapists (even though they haven't been formally schooled and tend to sell sexual favors).

There are some holistic practices that do help (in my opinion). Special herbal teas and a diet of natural foods (without dangerous chemical preservatives) seem to have a positive effect on the body and helps prevent an accumulation of many uneccessary toxins.

I am not saying this is supposed to replace or supercede standard medical help. Any massage therapist or holistic healer that tells you to avoid western medicine, then run fifty feet in the other direction.