Spirituality??? I don’t get it

rationalfriend
User is offlineOffline
Spirituality??? I don’t get it

I am a counseling intern and this word gets tossed around quite a bit at the university. Obviously it’s important for clients to get a handle on what the meaning of life is to them but does that translate into spirituality? To me it’s too subjective of a word to be taken seriously. “something larger than yourself” Can someone please explain to me in an objective way what that means? The word started out as a religious word and then later was added to the secular world so for me it doesn’t mean anything. The true meaning of life exists in the physical world for me and that’s not spiritual.

Archeopteryx
Superfan
Archeopteryx's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hmm.

I'm an atheist, and I don't see a problem with talking about spirituality, because I do think there is such a thing as secular spirituality. It's very subjective though, as you said, so I can only give you this for what it's worth.

For me, spirituality is sort of synonymous with "emotional profundity", to put it as concisely as possible. Waking up next to someone you love is spiritual. Stopping to appreciate a sunset would be spiritual. Standing in awe at the size of the Grand Canyon would be spiritual. Things like that.

I don't believe that people actually possess spirits though, and I definitely don't believe that these feelings are instilled in us from any supernatural source.

I would say that something was a "spiritual experience" in the same way that I would call that quiet time just before nightfall "the magic hour". Of course, I don't really believe that one hour out of the day is magical. It's just a poetic way of commenting on the specialness of the situation.