Theism is not the "root of all evil"

Talk25
Theist
User is offlineOffline
Theism is not the "root of all evil"

Greetings all,

I'm new to RR and I guess you could consider me to be a theist. I am a Falun Gong practitioner. Falun Gong is also known as Falun Dafa. It is not a religion, but it does talk about different gods and other supernatural phenomenon.

A little background: Falun Dafa is an ancient Chi Gong cultivation practice for improving mind and body through the practice of five gentle exercises and the study of the principles of Truthfulness-Compassion-Tolerance. It was introduced to the public in Changchun, China in 1992 by Teacher Li Hongzhi. The main teachings are found in the book Zhuan Falun which can be downloaded for free from www.falundafa.org. For those who might be curious, I normally recommend reading China Falun Gong instead, also found at the same place. This book is shorter, easier to read and describes the exercises too.

Within 7 years of it's introduction by Teacher Li (often referred to as Master) Falun Dafa had spread by word of mouth to between 70 to 100 million people. Falun Dafa teaches people to think of others before themselves, to always be kind and forgiving and to never harm others. However, even though Falun Dafa improved people's health and relationships with others in society, the Chinese Communist Party started a brutal persecution of Falun Dafa in July 1992 which is still going on today. The CCP is officially atheist, but I'm not blaming atheism.

Please note that my opinions expressed below are my own and cannot be considered representative of Falun Dafa.