New Member TheGrapeOfWrath

TheGrapeOfWrath
User is offlineOffline
New Member TheGrapeOfWrath

Howdy ya'll from the buckle of the bible belt. Wow! Did he say ya'll?

All kidding aside it's nice to be here at RSS. I first heard about you on MySpace. My name is Troy and I live In Cashion, Oklahoma, population 365, churches 4. I recently moved back to Oklahoma from Phoenix after having been there for fifteen months. I move to Phoenix to heal up after shattering my ankle which kept me off of it for four months. It was a nasty injury. I have some hardware now and still can't spend a lot of time on my feet.

I don't think I ever believed in god. I would have to equate it to someone who is gay but tries to convince themselves they are not. I got married to the church (saved), lived the lie and then went through a quiet divorce. I'm only partly out of the atheist closet. I have one good friend left who I just can seem to tell her bluntly.

The more I studied god and religion the more I couldn't bring myself to believe. Eventually it got to the point where I couldn't read the bible or talk to religious people without wanting to laugh.

As for me, right now I'm looking for a job, preparing to go to welding school in the evenings, and thinking very seriously about starting a new chapter of NORML. I was asked by the head of Oklahoma NORML to consider it. I am a little hesitant because doing so, along with the fact that I'm an Atheist, in small town Oklahoma might come with some social ramifications. I'm picturing the movie Frankenstein, crazed villagers with torches and pitchforks.

www.norml.org

There are a few of us brave souls here who actually admit we smoke weed. Most of us do it quietly so the bad men don't come and take us away. In Oklahoma you can still get life in prison for having a single little seedling and a Styrofoam cup. So between the cops and snitches who want to make a quick fifty bucks, people here have every right to be paranoid.