Petty Officer Squid Reporting for Duty

solidsquid
solidsquid's picture
User is offlineOffline
Petty Officer Squid Reporting for Duty

So I suppose a proper introduction on my part is in order. I'm solidsquid (often shortened to just squid), a 31 year old atheist in Texas. Currently living in north Dallas (Richardson to be exact) and attending the University of Texas-Dallas. I'm a newbie to this forum but not to the online atheist community. I first began my online journey several years ago when I joined the Atheist Network and ran around the forums at Infidel Guy's site. I eventually ended up starting my own site and claiming my area in cyberspace. I currently run atheistcoalition.com (not to be confused with atheistcoalition.org - which is the Atheist Coalition of San Diego. I wasn't aware of their existence when I chose the domain name) which will be two whole years old in September of this year. My schoolin' and work keep me from updating my site regularly but I hope to tackle that problem after the semester ends April 30th.

Many people ask where my name comes from. Well, the squid part comes from my time spent serving in the U.S. Navy as a photolithographer (1996-2000). The solidsquid name is a play on the character Solid Snake from the Metalgear games.

Some other random information about me:

* I'm an ardent defender of evolutionary theory (I've entered into more debates online than I can count) - always hoping that science will overcome the irrationality utilized by creationism and ID. I actually started working on a rebuttal to an essay someone posted online on a personal website criticizing evolution - that was around 8 months ago. Since then this rebuttal has grown into a huge (now 75 pages and still growing) treatise. Hopefully I will finish it soon (maybe this summer) and submit it as part of the creationist site rebuttals here.