Hi RRS

Skyknight
Skyknight's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hi RRS

Hi I just thought I would introduce myself because I'll probably posting quite a bit and in my experience knowing the background of someone usually helps you interpret their views and of course know what angle to take when debating with them. And hey if you don't care you don't have to read this Smiling

Firstly probably the most relevant thing about me is that I'm English, I have always taken more interest in american affairs than the normal brit but I am admittedly ignorant on a lot of aspects of american society, that's partly why I'm on here. I am studying law at uni and am currently looking at what part religion does and should play in law. My lecturer directed me to find an interview with Richard Dawkins which eventually led me to this site. (On a complete tangent, I met Richard Dawkins when he opened the new science block at my old college. He was presented as a leading scientist in evolution and not as an atheist.)

As for my background, my parents are both Methodists, but from what I have picked up, they are not at all like scary american Methodists. My mum is a doctor and both my parents are certainly intelligent. All my grandparents are/were Methodists as well, one of which was actually a lecturer at Wesley college where methodist ministers train in the UK. I am extremely upset that he died before I could have a debate about religion with him. My other grandmother has a physics degree from Cambridge (think harvard but better Sticking out tongue). So I have been brought up with a very strange mix of intelligent debate and irrational beliefs. Though I must clarify that my parents and grandparents take a very loose interpretation of the bible.