just left Christianity after 18 years...

phoenix101
User is offlineOffline
just left Christianity after 18 years...

all l my friends here in Derby, England where I live, and my wife too,  are all Christians. I would just appreciate an opportunity to chat and discuss stuff with people who think the same way as I do now. I've read "the God Delusion" and I've just started Sam Harris'  book "the end of faith", and it's brilliant, very  clear and provocative. Anyone out there have similar experiences to me, i.e.  that I converted to Christianity sincerely   in my early 20s but just could not sustain a belief in it when it's so full of holes  etc etc.  I'm glad Rational response exists , and I loved the debate with the Christians on ABC. You floored them!Laughing

Anyone want to reply with anything at all... 

Conor Wilson
User is offlineOffline
Welcome, phoenix101!   I'm

Welcome, phoenix101!

I'm fairly new to being an atheist, myself, and the two books you mentioned were certainly a part of my journey, too.  (As were "God Is Not Great," by Christopher Hitchens and "Letter To A Christian Nation," by Harris.  Not to mention this very website!)

As for how similar my story is to yours, I was raised in Christianity...the Roman Catholic iteration.  And, long story short, I found it to be full of holes.  Did some looking around, briefly became a Mormon, and ended up chucking it all.  Even then, I had problems with letting go even of Jesus' divinity, to say nothing of the existence of God.

Anyway...welcome!

Conor

P.S.: I'm glad Rational Response Squad is here, too!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

"Faith does not fear reason."--Pope Pius XII

"But it should!"--Me

phoenix101
User is offlineOffline
making contacts when your friends and family are Christians