Hello and a few points

Semp2pts
User is offlineOffline
Hello and a few points

Hey all.

I'm new here and I thought it would be worthwhile introducing myself.

I'm 26 year old Christian from Australia. I've been studying matters of faith since I was about 10 years old and have been actively searching out answers ever since. Particular interest is in the age-old creation vs evolution debate (incidently, I don't really have a side - to me it doesn't really matter how it all came about). In discussion of faith issues, I've usually been able to gain the respect of both atheists and Christians as being fairly balanced and unbiased. I hope this is true here too. I look forward to discussing things with you guys as well.

A few points that have come to mind:

1. "The Rational Response Squad"
I find it interesting that this group would be named as such. A classic definition of "rational" is

1. agreeable to reason; reasonable; sensible: a rational plan for economic development.
2. having or exercising reason, sound judgment, or good sense: a calm and rational negotiator.
3. being in or characterized by full possession of one's reason; sane; lucid: The patient appeared perfectly rational.
4. endowed with the faculty of reason: rational beings.
5. of, pertaining to, or constituting reasoning powers: the rational faculty.
6. proceeding or derived from reason or based on reasoning: a rational explanation.
(Synonyms 2. intelligent, wise, judicious, sagacious, enlightened)

I am not disputing that the view points and beliefs of Atheists aren't achieved in a rational, methodic way - BUT - I am disputing the claim that theists cannot achieve their view points and beliefs in a similar way.