On Friday I'll be arguing with my Christian Union - lend me a quick hand!

Strafio
Strafio's picture
User is offlineOffline
On Friday I'll be arguing with my Christian Union - lend me a quick hand!

On Fridays, Nottingham's Christian Union have this event called "lunch bar".
You go to the Portland building at 1pm where they'll have a room booked and will out sandwiches as a free lunch. The catch is that you listen to a Christian speaker talk. At the end you get to ask questions. This Friday the topic is the evidence for the historical Jesus.

I have some basic knowledge of the basic Christian argument and rebuttals, but as there's only about 10 mins for questions and I'll be sharing the time with others in the audience, I want my questions to be as simple, direct and effective as possible.

I think the general Christian argument uses the following points:
1) The Bible being a reliable eye witness testimony.
What we can deduce from the earliest surviving copies.
They claim that there was no room for exaduration and rumour building.

Perhaps the best examples would be urban legends that have cropped up within the last 60 years?
That Christianity didn't really take off in Israel where the events happened, but was more successful in places like Greece and Rome that was further away... people had less direct knowledge of the place in question?
Matthew felt the need to say that the Jewish Authorities had paid the Roman Solidiers guarding the tomb to claim that the disciples had stolen the body. Why would he feel the need to claim this?

2) That Jesus and the people who wrote the Bible had no reason to exadurate as it cost them their lives. They were either mad, liars or genuine.

I find this one a bit more difficult to refute...