Syllogisms for review (Title corrected)

wzedi
Theist
User is offlineOffline
Syllogisms for review (Title corrected)

A couple of weeks back I was asked to verse myself in base logic. I'm just getting started so I'm hoping some logic fundies can help me out with a coupel of syllogisms. I'm hoping in particular that magilum and deludedgod will participate in this discussion.

Syllogism 1:

All natural processes act on existing matter

All natural things are created through natural processes

All natural things are created from existing matter

Syllogism 2:

All things subject to time have a beginning

All natural things are subject to time

All natural things have a beginning

Logic fundis please advise corrections to these.

In essence I believe these are sound. They are loosely based in fundamental laws of physics. Those of conservation and entropy. Even without the syllogisms I draw the following conclusions from the fundamental laws of physics:

1. Entropy shows that the Universe had a beginning (I believe this is more or less generally accepted)

2. Conservation shows that energy can neither be created not destroyed.

3. If natural processes cannot account for the beginning of the universe then super natural processesmust be responsible.

As an aside I've just had somone refer to string theory - something about a multiverse. Even if that is true, it all had to start somewhere. String theory is a little like the theist "God can do anything" argument, what's that again? The argument from ignorance or something like that.

Surely, no one, with a little reflection, can claim that natural processes that can be explained using physics can account for the creation of the universe.

In addition, where did life come from? No-one has observed life spontaneously coming into existence. Life begets life. Where did it come from?

Surely it is logical to say that super natural processes are responsible for the beginning of the universe and for the beginning of life.