Hi I am Dutch Heretic from the Netherlands

DutchHeretic
atheist
DutchHeretic's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hi I am Dutch Heretic from the Netherlands

Hi My name is Dirk and my internet entity is DutchHeretic

I have a rather obscur blog http://dutchheretic.blogspot.com and an english language atheist websitehttp://www.dutchheretic.com which I both write under the alias : Ned Heiden wich loosely translates as dutch heathen..

Only close friends get to know my real name because it is such a peculiar name that it always shows up intop of any google search about me , and thanks to google maps and streetview one can find exactly where I live more a less in three mouse clicks

That usually was not a problerm but since I became active in American Atheism I have received death threats by snail mail so I quickly erased any trail as good as possible Let me describe myself quoting a passage of one of my

It started when I had an epiphany..

Not of the divine kind, far from that, it was more of studying the gathered pieces of a puzzle and suddenly seeing every one of them spontaneously perfectly falling in place.  It was like the Eureka moment after discovering the Archimedes Principle, that made Archimedes forget to put his clothes on and run naked in the streets shouting "Eureka eureka I found it I found it"  I am a little more down to earth and instead of running through the streets naked, I hurried to get a notebook and pencil to write it down before it would slip my mind. As a result of that I will try to make heads of tails of it for the first time in this text.

Richard Dawkins has a seven point scale  to help people describe themselves with regard to their level of conviction about theism and atheism.
1.    Strong theist. 100 per cent probability of God
2.    De facto theist. Very high probability but short of 100 per cent
3.    Leaning towards theism. Higher than 50 per cent but not very high
4.    Leaning towards atheism. Lower than 50 per cent but not very low