A College Education

cojalen
atheist
User is offlineOffline
A College Education

So I have a bit of a problem.

Right out of high school I was sent to a university. I'm currently a junior, and after a couple years of indecision plus some bad life choices, I'm majoring in English and philosophy. I'm in the introductory courses right now.

I've heard a ton of people say that I'm wasting my time. Some say that an English major is a waste. Others say a philosophy major is a waste. I'm very wasteful it seems! Though I don't necessarily think that when people say "waste," that I'm in agreement with their definition. As far as getting a solid job right out of college, English and philosophy might be poor choices. But I feel as though I'm more self-aware than I had been in high school. And more aware of things going on around me. And I'm learning about things that I enjoy. That has some worth, right?

They will say that those things won't get me a job, that I can just go to a library and learn more on my own for less money, and that I'm being brainwashed.

I came to my school and majored in these things because they're what I love. I do a lot of writing, I'm taking an interest in linguistics, and I've found that a lot of the things I'm assigned parallel in both subjects. They've given me a lot to think about, a lot to question, and philosophy has even opened up an interest to science and math. That's a big deal! I've never been interested in those two incredibly large subjects. And now that I think about it more, their influence on our lives is so strong. It would be a disservice to me not to look into them further.