On atheistic grammar, usage, and spelling

Anonymous
User is offlineOffline
On atheistic grammar, usage, and spelling

I find one habit of many atheist posters on this and other fora to be annoying, mostly because I am an editor, and therefore a stickler for grammar by vocation. I recently read on these boards an essay (I presume by a high-school student) for school on why that person would not be a Christian. Fine as far as that goes, and perhaps a bit cheeky, as that would likely ruffle the feathers of some teachers in this nation.

However, the essay does show up the tendency of some atheists to "belittle by proxy" religious views, especially Christian ones.

Take that word "Christian." I don't know how many times I have seen it written as "christian."

Similarly, "the bible" is ofttimes lower-cased.

In English Grammar, titles of religious sects or books are capitalized. Always. I presume that some atheists lower-case The Bible as a visual display of their disdain for that book, from a belief it is myth, fiction, &c. But the same folk would not presume to rewrite the rules of grammar for other books they consider to be fictional, such as Airport, or The Hobbit.

I have even run into this tendency in my job, where I then have to politely point out to the author "The Bible" is the title of a book. Regardless of whether one believes what is in it, it is still the title of a book.

And yet many of the same atheists will hold forth on how uninformed a particular Christian apologist is by pointing out flaws in spelling or grammar.