Hi, hello, how are ya?

NemesisREB
atheist
NemesisREB's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hi, hello, how are ya?

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to say 'hi' Smiling

A little bit about me: I'm a writer and a musician, and--consequently--poor. I'm bipolar, and not too shy about it. I'm gay, and not too shy about that, either. I'm from the Big City, but was transplanted to a Small Town five years ago. (I'm still getting used to the lack of sky-scrapers and the superfluity of mediocre sushi.) I was raised Episcopalian, and to be a wide-eyed superstitionist; but thankfully I lost my religion about three years ago. Here's hoping no one finds it and gives it back.

I no longer believe in luck, and it's a good thing I don't, since mine is mostly bad, anyway. I'm an existentialist nihilist, which for me means that I'm always asking: what's the point of being here or anywhere, since nothing objectively matters?

Ah, but even in the midst of roller-coaster ups and downs, my life's a beach. Now, if only I knew how to swim. . . .

“I'm not an atheist. How can you not believe in something that doesn't exist? That's way too convoluted for me.”--A Whitney Brown

luca
atheist
User is offlineOffline
periferia

From a city to a small town?! It's a good thing, then. Cities are so ugly.

Well if your life is a beach and you don't know how to swim, mine's a bitch and I'm still virgin.

Quote:
what's the point of being here or anywhere, since nothing objectively matters?

In the hope that you do not overcome your istinct for survival, you can always do what matters to you, and if what matters to you are other people, then you can help them. There's always a need of that. So you can have a aim. And if this is not sufficient, then you can again support life so that one day we could find the 'point' of being here. Which by the way evolution has shown.

cj
atheistRational VIP!
cj's picture
User is offlineOffline
NemesisREB wrote:I no longer

NemesisREB wrote: