Hallo!

mynameinc
atheist
User is offlineOffline
Hallo!

Fellow atheists, I am mynameinc.  I am a high school student.  Let me explain my high school and community:

*I know of three atheist students out of ~1000.  The rest are Christians.

*One atheist teacher out of ~80.  The rest are Christians.

*This is an extremely conservative part of the nation.  If I mention that I watch CNN, I am immediately looked down upon.

*Fundamentalist Protestantism is the norm, not the exception.

*This town's version of the Church of God is a cult.  Even the other fundies think so.  They speak in tongues virtually every service and use faith healing instead of medicine.

*All of the aforementioned denominations cram their respective dogma down your throat at every given chance.

*We have three Bio teachers.  The atheist teacher is the only one who teaches evolution like it should be.   Another one slants it, and the other refuses to teach it at all.

*I am a (self-declared) Militant Atheist.  This brings me much harassment from students and occasionally teachers.  I don't care.

*Of my friends, three support my atheism.  Two are the aforementioned freethinkers.

*Superstition is rampant, beyond the religion.  One day, a CoG member used pallomancy to predict sexes of future children, and it was immediately hailed as true.

*To these people, the Bible is the only science book.

I'm open for questions.

ex-minister
atheistHigh Level Moderator
ex-minister's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome Sounds like you

Welcome

Sounds like you have your head on straight.

Religion Kills !!!

Numbers 31:17-18 - Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.

http://jesus-needs-money.blogspot.com/

mrOriginal
atheist
mrOriginal's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome to the forum. I can