Local letter to the editor

connerman
atheist
connerman's picture
User is offlineOffline
Local letter to the editor

This letter appeared in my local newspaper

Graphic had no place in newspaper

Re: "Death by stoning" (In 5 Minutes graphic, Jan. 5)fctAdTag("bigbox",MyGenericTagVar,1);

I am a social sciences teacher at a local high school, and was shown the article by our school librarian. At first glance, it would appear this is a basic 'how to' depiction of a basic skill such as throwing a baseball or improving a golf swing; the graphs and bizarre imagery would further substantiate this initial impression. When I took the time to read the article, and understood its focus was about an archaic method of executing men and women in countries lacking the human rights and voice to challenge this antiquated idea, I was disgusted.

As educators, we work hard to instil in students the idea that violence, in any form, is wrong, and to make a cartoon-like image of such a violent act and cultural practice further desensitizes readers to the reality of the situation.

Furthermore, outlining the steps in a manner similar to those found in an everyday recipe or video game does not provide credence to the severity of the issue.

Although as readers in a free, developed country we cannot presume to condemn a culture for its practices (even though to us stoning may seem particularly cruel and primitive), we can, however, emphasize the value of human life and not categorize or presume to simplify death through inappropriate methods such as this article. What's next? A similar graphic article outlining the steps an American on death row would face through electrocution would never make it to print because it would be considered too uncomfortable for the reader. The same consideration should be afforded to stoning.