Hello from a Kafir

lalib
atheist
lalib's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hello from a Kafir

Hello, I am a junior in college and have had doubts about religion since late high school. I have told a couple of people that I am an now an atheist but am effectively still in the closet due to financial concerns. My family are devout Muslims and raised me as such to the point where I was a creationist, 9/11 conspiracy theorist, Holocaust denier, etc up until the 10th grade! I am studying Biology and Philosophy with the intent to go to Medical school. 

cj
atheistRational VIP!
cj's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome to the forum - are

Welcome to the forum - are you in Kafir now or studying in another country?

lalib
atheist
lalib's picture
User is offlineOffline
 I am in the US, I was

I am in the US, I was using the Arabic/Islamic word Kafir=Infidel as joke referring to the fact that I used to be muslim. Smiling

harleysportster
atheist
harleysportster's picture
User is offlineOffline
lalib wrote:Hello, I am a

lalib wrote:

Hello, I am a junior in college and have had doubts about religion since late high school. I have told a couple of people that I am an now an atheist but am effectively still in the closet due to financial concerns. My family are devout Muslims and raised me as such to the point where I was a creationist, 9/11 conspiracy theorist, Holocaust denier, etc up until the 10th grade! I am studying Biology and Philosophy with the intent to go to Medical school. 

Welcome aboard. It takes alot of courage and intelligence to overcome indoctrination like that. Hats off to you. Good to have you on board.

“It is proof of a base and low mind for one to wish to think with the masses or majority, merely because the majority is the majority. Truth does not change because it is, or is not, believed by a majority of the people.”
― Giordano Bruno

Jeffrick
High Level DonorRational VIP!SuperfanGold Member
Jeffrick's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome.