About Meetings and Gatherings....

Rich Woods
Rational VIP!
Rich Woods's picture
User is offlineOffline
About Meetings and Gatherings....

I just watched Phil Plait's lecture (Thanks Capt. Pineapple) from Tam 8...and saw that Shelley is going to be a breakout speaker at the upcoming AAI....

I don't know about anyone else... But I had no idea what any of these conventions/conferences were until I saw them in passing, and looked them up...I also am unaware of any upcoming events....So I was thinking....

With all of the forums that don't get much "action" anymore... what if we were to have a forum about international, national, and local conventions/gatherings?....  Local organizations affiliated with the RRS could post about their meetings, as well as when larger groups get together... this can extend to socio/political gatherings, and Science conventions too... For all I know there is an atheist group nearby that I have no knowledge of... Also word of mouth coupled with actual human interaction might increase memberships...

My background is in the "adult" industry...so other messageboards that I have belonged to have had similar features, and it has worked out... Half of my audience usually came because they saw a thread on a messageboard and read my shameless  post whoring about my seminar...

Potentially... should the folks here at the RRS ever have the desire... I imagine they could have their own national gathering too... I know i would pay to hear some of the people on this site speak...

anyway... Just a thought...

Sapient
High Level DonorRRS CO-FOUNDERRRS Core MemberWebsite Admin
User is offlineOffline
Part of the reason I don't