Greetings from Texas!

TexasStateAtheist
TexasStateAtheist's picture
User is offlineOffline
Greetings from Texas!

My name's Porter, I'm a student at Texas State University. It's in Texas, and it's not in Austin, so there are a lot of annoying Jesus freaks. Anyway, I've been a non-Christian for about two years now after coming to my senses and realizing that Christianity, the religion I was brought up in, made no sense. My parents have not been very kind to their atheist son. They mention how good God is nearly every time I talk to them, mention how I should go to church, and so on and so forth. They're being "good Christians," which is to say that they won't leave me be.

I enjoy talking about my atheism, talking about how flawed religion is, and the like. I'm a history major, so obviously I enjoy history. Music is an integral part of my life. Listening, mind you, I'm not talented enough to play anything. Anyway, I found out about RRS through Greydon Square, one of my favorite rappers. I never thought about joining until I saw some RRS videos on youtube, namely the Blasphemy Challenge.

I'm happy to finally find a good strong atheist community. Cheers.

Jeffrick
High Level DonorRational VIP!SuperfanGold Member
Jeffrick's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome from Canada

And welcome to rationality. There are several Texans on site, you'll hear from them.  Since you are a history major have you ever heard of Lord Mithras?  Otherwise do you have a history speciality?

"Very funny Scotty; now beam down our clothes."

VEGETARIAN: Ancient Hindu word for "lousy hunter"

If man was formed from dirt, why is there still dirt?

robj101
atheist
robj101's picture
User is offlineOffline
Is TX getting popular?Welcome

Is TX getting popular?

Welcome

Ken G.
User is offlineOffline
TexasstateAtheist wrote:It's not Austin