Religion doesn't have a leg to stand on

quarkyphysicist
User is offlineOffline
Religion doesn't have a leg to stand on

For some background, I used to be a member of the Lutheran Church before I became an atheist. I used to see the bible with the blinders, but as I studied the bible more deeply and learned about the mountian of evidence for evolution and really studied comparative mythology and what the bible really said that I decided that religion wasn't my cup of tea.

Here are some of the evidence that convinced me:

1) I watched a nova special on genetic diseases - Many of these diseases have no explaination if you don't believe in evolution.

2) When I took my wife to my friends church, the pastor referred to the passages about:

Women should submit to their husbands as onto God.

Women should cover their heads in church. 

Women should remain silent in church. 

And the passage in Jude about the sexual sins of angels in Genesis 6.

Why wife asked me - Why do they believe this?

I had never thought about it before so I read up on it.

I discovered the book of enoch. 

According to the book of Enoch, the angels saw the daughters of men and went down and forcably took them for wives. According to the book of Enoch, this is the source of most of the evil in the world. My creationist friends say no the bible says that the fall of man is the source of evil. If you say the book is not inspired then why does Jesus and Paul quote from it.

If God can't control his servants, then he either is not all powerfull or as George Carlin put it best: he doesn't give a shit, (at least until after the fact).

Comparatibe mythology gives a rational explaination for the Genesis 6/Book of Enoch angel/human sex bullshit. In the Eygptian Flood myth: the reason that the gods flood the nile is this: