a pipe-smoker's dream (a.k.a holy mother of FUCK)

iwbiek
atheistSuperfan
iwbiek's picture
User is offlineOffline
a pipe-smoker's dream (a.k.a holy mother of FUCK)

i'm a 7-year veteran of pipe-smoking.  i average about four bowls a week.  i'm almost to the point where i can't read without it.

like most people, i started with aromatic blends.  captain black cherry is still one of my favorites, though a bit hard to find.  then i graduated to stout blends of virginia and latakia.  for a while i smoked only peterson blends, particularly old dublin.  in the last year or so i got into flake tobacco, especially peterson irish flake.

after awhile, the strength of peterson blends just wasn't up to my standards, so i discovered samuel gawith tobaccos.  gawith is made in kendal, the heart of england's lake district, a beautiful area i visited back in 2003.  gawith is very good about strong blends.  they make an excellent navy flake, but i found my true love in commonwealth full strength mixture, which is a ribbon cut composed of 50% virginia, 50% latakia.  it has an aroma almost like coal smoke and a wonderful, rich flavor.

today i got adventurous and decided to try a twist tobacco.  i went to the tobacconist and bought a can of gawith black xx.

when i opened the can, i was more than surprised to find what looked a bit too much like a black dog turd staring up at me.  i took out my swiss army knife, cut a few slices, rubbed it out, and lightly packed my pipe (flake, plug, and twist tobaccos are dense and moist, and if you pack them too tight they'll never stay lit).

well, the flavor was surprisingly subdued, with strong hints of leather and earth.  the smoke was a bit harsh but definitely not the harshest i've ever had.

but then the nicotine hit.

like a fucking longshoreman's fist.