Boy, Howdy!

David Henson
Theist
David Henson's picture
User is offlineOffline
Boy, Howdy!

I'm new to this sort of group, so please be patient should I deviate from what is expected of me. My name is David Henson and I am a theist. I'm always looking for good discussion and have to admit that the argumentative side of me as well as an appreciation of at least some knowledge on the subject of the Bible leads me more often than not to the atheist Rather than the theist realm of discussion and debate.

I should probably point out how I may differ from what the atheists tend to expect from a theist. I was raised an atheist and in an attempt to debunk the Bible I began to study it carefully and became a believer. I hate organized religion. Religion always transmogrifies the original teachings. Taoism or Christianity (2 Timothy 4:3-4) I have read many "sacred" texts from various religions. The Dhammapada, Four Noble Truths, Analects of Confucius, Bhagavad-Gita, Quran, Pirque Aboth, Nihongi, Tao Te Ching, Chuang Tzu, etc.

My beliefs could be most accurately described as being very familiar (though not completely in line with) the Jehovah's Witnesses, because they know their Bible pretty good and removed all of the pagan influences. Hell, cross, trinity, immortal soul, Christmas, Easter, rapture, etc.

Since July I have been working on a website called The Pathway Machine which is a response to the Skeptic's Annotated Bible.

I hope we can have some stimulating conversation and that you are not too put off by my appalling sense of grammar.

The Pathway Machine

David Henson
Theist
David Henson's picture
User is offlineOffline
Brian37 wrote:You call us

Brian37 wrote:

You call us bitter? TO WHAT? A god(by any name?)IN WHAT CONTEXT?

IF a god were real I think it would be perfectly rational to be "bitter" about his "plan". Ecoli, cancer, pediophilia, tsunamis, crime and war. For what? Are we toys for his amusement?