Question

marshalltenbears
marshalltenbears's picture
User is offlineOffline
Question

I am still studying and learning about the big bang. But I have a question that I hope someone could help me with. If a star is thousands of light years away, how can we tell how far away it is. What is used to determine the distance of stars?

"Take all the heads of the people
and hang them up before the Lord
against the sun.” -- Numbers 25:4

Thomathy
Superfan
Thomathy's picture
User is offlineOffline
marshalltenbears wrote: I

marshalltenbears wrote:

I am still studying and learning about the big bang. But I have a question that I hope someone could help me with. If a star is thousands of light years away, how can we tell how far away it is. What is used to determine the distance of stars?

Redshift.

BigUniverse wrote,

"Well the things that happen less often are more likely to be the result of the supper natural. A thing like loosing my keys in the morning is not likely supper natural, but finding a thousand dollars or meeting a celebrity might be."

Sinphanius
Sinphanius's picture
User is offlineOffline
Quote:Redshift.Not quite,

Quote:
Redshift.

Not quite, that measures velocity, specifically, how fast it is moving away from us.

To measure Distance, we generally use Paralax, which is pretty much just big ass triangulation using the Earth's Orbit as the base line

Or at least that is what I remember

A rough estimate of distance can also be obtained by plotting the star's observed luminosity vs its expected absolute luminosity based on color and using the difference between the two to determine how mcuh the star's light has difused.  Again, if I remember correctly, which I wouldn't expect.

You would probably be better off looking here
or googling 'determine distance astronomical objects'.

When you say it like that you make it sound so Sinister...

Thomathy
Superfan
Thomathy's picture
User is offlineOffline
I'm not mathematician and