Help Needed: Atheist Survival Guide

lily090
User is offlineOffline
Help Needed: Atheist Survival Guide

This is my first time posting here, so I hope you guys  don't  find this as BS.

I live in The Philippines,  which is a Catholic-dominated country. If not Catholic, then Christian; and if not Christian then Theistic.

Apparently, the whole  Catholic majority  thing happened because of the  Spaniard's colonization of our  country.. Early Friars would condemn you to hell if you didn't  pay any money to the Church (indulgence). Though the Filipinos were released from the rule of the Spaniards the Catholic mentality still stayed. Now  people are doing irrational things like starting stampedes just to pull on a  rope which is attached to a religious statue and wiping handkerchiefs  on the face  of a Jesus statue because "it heals illnesses". There is even no separation of Church and state here, because apparently, a Cardinal can cause a bloodless rebellion against the government.

I'm an 18  year-old atheist. All  my friends are either Catholics or they belong to some Christian denomination. Though my family  isn't that religious, my grandfather still sees that religion  should  be a big part of life. I haven't told anyone in my family that I'm an atheist  due to fear of discrimination (Atheism is the new Gay). I have honestly only  met 2  fellow atheist, both my professors, and haven't  met a fellow atheist student  or someone close to my  age (probably because I don't go out that much).

I found this site a few days ago, and I can pretty much say that this is where I only find solace regarding my Atheism; and although it may take some time (due to the amount of brainwashing) to get used to accepting that there is no sky daddy, I'm pretty sure I can get there if I lurk in this site more.  I'll gladly give up that warm fuzzy feeling you get from praying for a dose of reality and enlightenment.