Nationalism = Beliefs

mipoiss
mipoiss's picture
User is offlineOffline
Nationalism = Beliefs

As a newbie, I searched this voluminous forum for a discussion on that topic, is nationalism the same as irrational beliefs?  Couldn't find any...

I somewhat disagree with that and I'd like to write up a short story of the Catholic religion in Quebec, Canada, for discussion.

Quebec is where the church, for centuries, actually helped preserve against all odds the French Language, my mother tongue - the French were some of the first to really separate state and church in the 16Th century, a language providing lots of anti-clerical literature -  and how in the early nineteen sixties the church was evacuated quietly and almost totally  (la Révolution Tranquille), to make Quebec one of the most secular societies in North America, and a French-speaking one at that.

Anyone interested  ?

M.

My Blog: One Life

Cpt_pineapple
atheist
User is offlineOffline
Nationalism can most

Nationalism can most certainly be harmful as the LTTE, SSNP, PFLP, PKK,  and of course the FLQ in none other than Quebec demostrate.

mipoiss
mipoiss's picture
User is offlineOffline
Nationalism and Language

Cpt_pineapple wrote:

Nationalism can most certainly be harmful as the LTTE, SSNP, PFLP, PKK,  and of course the FLQ in none other than Quebec demostrate.

Well, it depends on how important your Language is to you. 

Anglos often miss that point because their language is used all over the planet.  And it almost doesn't correspond to any nationality anymore.  If it wasn't for our local nationalism, I'd be unilingual English, and that would be a major loss, as French - from the first nation to promote separation of cult and state, and the first nation to elevate rationalism to almost statehood - provides brilliant litterarure on these matters.

And I'm not talking about History, of which every language has a slightly different version...

Michel

Cpt_pineapple
atheist
User is offlineOffline