Virgin birth, help me defeat this douche

Medievalguy
Medievalguy's picture
User is offlineOffline
Virgin birth, help me defeat this douche

Hey guys, so I wrote this post on my blog about my religion class debating the virgin birth of Jesus, and this guy gets on there and posts the following. I'm not very good at constructing arguements, and know nothing of the Bayes’ Theorem. Anyone feel like taking a swing at him? I think the weakness of his argument lies in using the bible in the theorem.... Anyways, here's what he said:

Your reasoning displays an understanding of probability that is about 300 years out of date. Are you familiar with Bayes’ Theorem?

In your argument, you merely consider the intrinsic probability of the Virgin Birth hypothesis i.e. the probablity of the virgin birth given our background knowledge- Pr(H/B)

Pr= Probalility
H= Hypothesis of the Virgin Birth
B= Background knowledge
E= Evidence

The true probablity of H is:

-Pr(H/E&B) (The probablitiy of the miricle given total evidence)

divided by

-Pr(not-H/E&B) (The probablity of the miricle’s not occuring given the total evidence)

These values can be found by the following equation:

Pr(H/B) divided by Pr(not-H/B) multiplied by Pr(E/H&B) divided by Pr(E/not-H&B)

The only evidence available to both sides is the testimony of the Virgin Birth found in Matthew and Luke- the question is therefor, how probable is it, given our background information, that two books reference the virgin birth as an historical fact if:

(a) The Virgin Birth actually occured or
(b) The Virgin Virth was an invention