A biology/evolutionary quesiton that I should have been able to answer...

holmcross
User is offlineOffline
A biology/evolutionary quesiton that I should have been able to answer...

This is a question to the biologists out there. I’ve taken a few semesters in biology at college, but I found myself unable to give an answer I was satisfied with. I’m a chemist, not a biologist.

A little bit about me to flesh out the context... I used to be a hard-core conservative theist that believed there was overwhelming evidence to believe in God, and also to believe in a literal translation of the bible. Long story short, I found out that all my reasoning was circular and based on information which was flat out wrong. I’m still very good friends with many of the people from my old church and I argue with them from time to time.

My stance was that “I believe in religion because above everything else, that’s where the evidence leads. I’m a slave to that evidence”. It turned to “I don’t believe in God or the supernatural because I haven’t seen any real evidence to suggest the existence of such a thing” (Quite the change Eye-wink ).

But anyway, I was arguing with a friend of mine, and he claims that there is a slow and constant breakdown of the DNA of humans over time, and that we are a dying race. He goes on to say that this is a result of the perfect genome of adam and eve (I should have nailed him and had him define perfect) and that this is evidence to suggest a near-perfect original genome and a slow slide downhill.

To sum it up, he says that we are ‘copies’ of ‘copies’ of ‘copies’ of an original, and that with each generation, we slowly degrade. That’s his belief.