Plea for help: Me versus the jehovah's witnesses

lazuli13
Scientist
lazuli13's picture
User is offlineOffline
Plea for help: Me versus the jehovah's witnesses

I got an odd call from my sister tonight. We used to be close and hang out all the time, but now she is knocking on doors for the jehovah's witnesses. We talked and a visit came up. She wants me to spend a day with her and go to a "meeting". I can ask any questions I like, but I have to be polite and dress nice. This may be my only chance to break through, so I have to have the best arguments possible. Since the RRS has done this ad naseum, I am consulting you guys. She is 18 and has moved out of her mothers house to stay with church members and be home schooled. The situation is ugly. This may be my only chance, I don't care how bad it gets as long as I make her think and maybe release her from this delusion. I've never done a debate before, so please help me!

HisWillness
atheistRational VIP!
HisWillness's picture
User is offlineOffline
 It's not really about

It's not really about debate at that point. She's 18 and forming a world view that just got jacked by "certainty". That's unassailable. It's really your call, though. I think if you were confrontational with her social group, the end result would be negative. If you talked to her about it alone, she might come over to the light slowly, but it would be a painful process for her.

I don't envy you the task!

Saint Will: no gyration without funkstification.
fabulae! nil satis firmi video quam ob rem accipere hunc mi expediat metum. - Terence

JillSwift
Superfan
JillSwift's picture
User is offlineOffline
Your best bet will be to