The Bible and Descontruction Literary Theory

jread
SuperfanTheist
jread's picture
User is offlineOffline
The Bible and Descontruction Literary Theory

I'm no expert on deconstruction, but my basic understanding of it prompts a question in regards to the Bible and the evidence against it. I do find that the Bible is contradictory in many mays. However, I'm asking this question today because deconstructionist theory essentially says that every text internally contradicts itself.

I am therefore asking the question: Is it that the Bible is extremely contradictory or is that each and every text, no matter how cherished or beloved it may be, is extremely contradictory?

I'm not supposing that I may have stumbled on a landmark savior for the Bible's errancy. Far from it. Rather, I am asking this question to perhaps point out that the attention the Bible gets for its internal inconsistencies is a kind of attention that any text could receive, according to a deconstructionist framework. 

Note: If there are any deconstructionists who read this, feel free to correct my basic understanding of the theory. I would greatly appreciate it.

The implication that we should put Darwinism on trial overlooks the fact that Darwinism has always been on trial within the scientific community. -- From Finding Darwin's God by Kenneth R. Miller

Chaos and chance don't mean the absence of law and order, but rather the presence of order so complex that it lies beyond our abilities to grasp and describe it. -- From From Certainty to Uncertainty by F. David Peat

Hambydammit
High Level DonorModeratorRRS Core Member
Hambydammit's picture
User is offlineOffline
DISCLAIMER:  I think

DISCLAIMER:  I think deconstructionist arguments are usually very stupid, so I gave up reading them many years ago, and am not qualified to discuss any recent breakthroughs that make the arguments less stupid.