Are there any philosophy students/graduates on here that can help?

ChosenByPasta
ChosenByPasta's picture
User is offlineOffline
Are there any philosophy students/graduates on here that can help?

I'm a rookie to philosophy, but I've taken a few intro courses and have been reading a lot. I'm trying to find some students/graduates not only to talk to about philosophy in general, but I need some input on these two different schools I am considering.

Anyone interested in helping?

"Every true faith is infallible -- It performs what the believing person hopes to find in it. But it does not offer the least support for the establishing of an objective truth. Here the ways of men divide. If you want to achieve peace of mind and happiness, have faith. If you want to be a disciple of truth, then search." - Nietzsche

deludedgod
Rational VIP!ScientistDeluded God
deludedgod's picture
User is offlineOffline
Go ahead.

Go ahead.

"Physical reality” isn’t some arbitrary demarcation. It is defined in terms of what we can systematically investigate, directly or not, by means of our senses. It is preposterous to assert that the process of systematic scientific reasoning arbitrarily excludes “non-physical explanations” because the very notion of “non-physical explanation” is contradictory.

-Me

Books about atheism

ChosenByPasta
ChosenByPasta's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hey deludedgod, thanks for

Hey deludedgod, thanks for the help.

Well for starters I'm just trying to get through this dilemma I am in with choosing colleges. I am orginally from Buffalo, New York but moved here last summer to Eugene, Oregon. I'm not going to stay here after the next semester. My dilemma is either moving up to Portland, here in Oregon, or moving back to New York for school.

Portland is a much more exciting city, and Portland State University's philosophy program looks much better than the University at Buffalo's, but I'm really not sure because I'm still so new to philosophy.