In a living animal without cancer, the extracellular matrix is an odd place to find a cathepsin B-like protein.

HeirToRuin
HeirToRuin's picture
User is offlineOffline
In a living animal without cancer, the extracellular matrix is an odd place to find a cathepsin B-like protein.

I am a PhD student in developmental and cell biology.  My studies require a working laboratory knowledge of how to manipulate the genomes of fruit flies to study how cells interact during development by altering gene expression and creating mutant proteins.  This includes a self-sustaining understanding of basic genomics and proteomics, molecular biology, cell culture, developmental processes at the cellular and organismal level, and a natural curiosity to spend enough devoted to figuring out a specific problem in developmental biology.

In my case, I am examining what at intuition says "disease condition," when it's heard.  This condition is the presence of a cathepsin B-like protein in the extracellular matrix.  For those of you not familiar with cathepsins (or protein families in general, for that matter), they are a type of protein that cuts other proteins into smaller pieces, or proteases for short.  Cathepsins are normally found in lysosomes, which are acidic vesicles within cells containing an array of proteases involved in recycling other proteins in the cell.  However, in many cancers, cathepsins can be secreted into the extracellular matrix where they can digest away basement membranes, thus promoting tumor invasion.  So cathepsin B or a cathepsin B-like protein in the extracellular matrix is considered a bad thing.