Difference between Scientific Law and Theory

Jello
User is offlineOffline
Difference between Scientific Law and Theory

Creationists like to say that Law is above theory in the scientific pecking order. I think that Law is observation, and Theory is an explanation of those obsevations. But now I've got some dude telling me that "but i am not wrong, i have studied this to a bahcelors level in honours and this is what we learn as the diffrenece bewteen a law and a theory,

the 2 links i posted ALSO back up my cliams, what sources have you got?

also i asked of you to apply you defintion of a theory explaining the observations behind a law, i ASKED YOU TO APPLY THIS TO THE LAWS OF THERMODYNAMICS,

my view seperates any theory from the laws of thermodynamiics.

you say the theory EXPLAINS the onservations... FINe

So tell me what theory explains teh laws of thermodynamics.

or even better how about a scientifci journal to bakc up your defintion."

Seeing as I'm no expert and I suck at debating and stuff, can I get a bit of help here?  

deludedgod
Rational VIP!ScientistDeluded God
deludedgod's picture
User is offlineOffline
If anyone uses

If anyone uses thermodynamics against evolution, they're an idiot anyway:

Entropy and Life- The Functions of Thermodynamics and their implications for biological systems

And, to paraphrase him, don't tell me I'm wrong about this, as I studied it to doctorate level.

"Physical reality” isn’t some arbitrary demarcation. It is defined in terms of what we can systematically investigate, directly or not, by means of our senses. It is preposterous to assert that the process of systematic scientific reasoning arbitrarily excludes “non-physical explanations” because the very notion of “non-physical explanation” is contradictory.

-Me

Books about atheism

Jello
User is offlineOffline
Is there a theory explaining

Is there a theory explaining the Law of thermodynamics?

latincanuck
atheist
latincanuck's picture
User is offlineOffline